Passages and Quotations: The Haunting of Hill House

“I was wondering earlier,” Eleanor said, feeling she had somehow an apology to make to all of them. “I thought I was altogether calm, and yet now I know I was terribly afraid.” She frowned, puzzled, and they waited for her to go on. “When I am afraid, I can see perfectly the sensible, beautiful not-afraid side of the world. I can see chairs and tables and windows staying the same, not affected in the least, and I can see things like the woven texture of the carpet, not even moving. But when I am afraid I no longer exist in any relation to these things. I suppose because they are not afraid.”

~ Eleanor, in Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House

One thought on “Passages and Quotations: The Haunting of Hill House

  1. Dissociation by any other name is still dissociation. What a wonderful description of that experience and the dawning awareness of it.

Leave a Reply

