Blueberries

One of the problems with writing a blog is that one starts to read other blogs, and in my case, this led inevitably to reading too many blogs, or rather, skimming too many blogs. I’ve seriously cut back my amount of online reading, because the pay-off just wasn’t worth the time I spent “browsing” the web. Real books make me infinitely happier. There are exceptions, however, and among the web pages I still read (or at least visit) regularly are a number of food blogs. I get a lot of recipes and general food ideas online, and recently, with the end of summer, I’ve noticed tons and tons of articles about blueberries.

I love berries. Sometimes I wind myself into horrible knots of indecision, thinking about which berry I’d give up, if I had to choose one never to eat again. I’ve stopped playing that game. It made me too sad. Suffice it to say, I love many many berries, and blueberries perennially top that list. In fact, I bought some today. Not sure how I’ll use them yet (most likely just as a delicious addition to morning cereal before my early shifts this week) but some of my favorite bloggers have featured great Blueberry-based recipes in the past few days, and I want to share them with you.

One of my favorite food blogs, Smitten Kitchen, just posted a recipe for one of my favorite baked goods, perfect blueberry muffins (have I used the word ‘favorite’ enough times in this post yet?). The Baker’s Apprentice, a series in the Dining & Wine section of The New York Times featured scrumptious-looking blueberry crumb cake. Yummy food blog Lucious recently posted this recipe for blueberry ‘cobbler.’

Blueberry Crumb Bars from "Cupcakes and Cashmere."

And for the not-strictly-foody-but-fashionista angle, Emily of the fashion blog Cupcakes and Cashmere (who, I recently found out via another alumna, graduated from my college around when I arrived there) included the recipe for these absolutely delicious looking blueberry crumb bars. Another food blog I visit quite often, Sprouted Kitchen, recently added a recipe for beautiful (at least when they make them) blueberry and cream tarts.

And not to totally overwhelm you, but Chocolate and Zucchini‘s apricot blueberry cobbler looks pretty irresistible as well. Edit: And of course (how could I have left them out the first time around! Shame on me!) my lovely friends over at Cupcake Villains have some hunger-inducing blueberry cupcake recipes to offer. See Gibbs’ comment on my negligence below for a couple of links.

All these recipes might even inspire me to get adventurous with my tiny oven at some point in the next week. Or (more likely, sadly) I’ll just eat my blueberries out of the carton, enjoying every fantastically delicious berry-ful bite.

5 thoughts on “Blueberries

  1. Ha I actually looked at that recipe but then felt guilty including it since it wasn’t from August!! Note taken…situation will be rectified momentarily : )

  2. aww – Thanks for the shout-out! My blueberry cobbler was really tasty, and I’m thrilled to be in such great company!

    And also, how great to have blueberry collection all in one post!

  3. How perfect that I finally comment about FOOD, not BOOKS! Berries ARE wonderful and perhaps BEST in their natural state. . .although ADDING them to almost ANYTHING is almost guaranteed to improve it. Can’t resist adding my beloved recipe for Fresh Blueberry Ice Cream.

    Ingredients:
    4 cups fresh blueberries
    3 cups sugar, divided
    3 TBSPS. lemon juice
    2 TBSPS. Grand Marnier
    4 eggs
    1 TBSP. vanilla extract
    4 cups whipping cream.

    Combine berries, 3/4 cup sugar and lemon juice in blender; process till pureed. Set aside. Beat eggs until thick and lemon-colored. Gradually add remaining 2 1/4 cups sugar, beating constantly. Add liqueur, vanilla and pureed berries; continue beating until well blended.

    Pour mixture into freezer can of 1-gallon ice cream freezer. Add whipping cream and freeze following manufacturer’s instructions. Let ripen 2 hours before serving. This ice cream keeps well in the freezer.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

